Sunday, March 7, 2004

We are about 2 hours from New York. I have slept some, but not enough to do more than give myself a second wind. My tailbone is sore from 3 to 4 days of 8-9 hour flights. We have just had the last of out Russian meals for this trip. "High tea" a roll with soft, mellow buttery cheese, some cold cut (just one), carrot, sesame seed and red onion, a small tomato and 3 cucumber fingers. And of course the dark, strong bread. And a small chocolate bar. I've learned some things on this trip. First everything is translated literally i.e. "where do you live?" means "where are you staying?" Water with or without gas means with or without carbonation. I have moved my wedding band back to my left hand. In Russia, if you wear your wedding band on your left hand it means you are widowed or divorced. If you are married you wear your band on your right hand. This time the plane is thankfully much cooler. I feel like and have already cried today. I think first out of sadness for leaving our baby behind. Two out of relief in getting back to the U.S. I have realized I have not drank enough water and too much coffee on this trip. I need to remember to drink more water. I can't wait to land at JFK and meet Fred and Nancy. Hopefully Fred got my SOS plea for a huge WAWA coffee. A small piece of home. I will probably sleep on the trip to Jersey and be awake all night. It will make going to work tomorrow fun. I look forward to seeing my cozy, messy house, my cats and my Co-workers. We got an insight on how lucky we are this morning. A couple we met were flying 4 hours then had to drive another 3 for a one time 2 hour visit with their baby. We have been very blessed with the 10 hours or so we got to spend with Katya. Everyone (except grouchy maid at the Arbat) has been very nice to us. I hope that trend continues with our next trip.
We're in the air on our way home. Getting through customs was nothing - we went through the green line - nothing to declare. We packed 6 bottles of Russian vodka and some chocolate. Security is especially tight on flights to the US. Not only did we go through 3 sets of x-ray but they hand searched our bags, etc. That is how it should be. We didn't get to see the Kremlin - it was closed, maybe next trip.
Well, I didn't sleep the night through. I woke up at 3:30 Moscow time. My body is so out of whack it's not even funny. Joe finally got up at 5 Moscow time. I think I got up at 6 or so. We met some other American couples at breakfast. Actually, they would be "westerners". 2 of the couples were from Canada, and one was from North Carolina. The southern couple were on their exiting visit with their 10 month old son. One of the Canadian couples had arrived to go to court and one had arrived last night on their first visit. We passed along our little pieces of wisdom, (Don't drink the water), order cocoa, not hot chocolate as everything is taken literally and don't forget to tip. We walked Arbat St. one more time and then waited for Natasha. When we came back from our walk Joe accidentally stepped on the towel I had put down on the bathroom floor ( i did this because the shower leaked all over the floor). When we checked out we were charged like 150 Rubles (Actually a little over 300) for the "damaged" towel! I said fine, but jokingly said to Natasha, I put down the towel because the shower leaked. If I have to pay for the towel I want it. I'll take it home with me to remind me to let the shower leak. Natasha tells the maid what I said, and that I want the towel. The maid put the towel in a bag and gave it to me! OK! Well, I've learned my lesson. Don't say anything you don't want translated and let the shower flood and let the maids clean it up. We wanted to tour the Kremlin but it was 1800 Rubles or $60 per person. Ouch. I guess that will have to wait for our next trip. We went to a chocolate factory and bought some chocolate and a liquor store and bought our vodka. Have I mentioned there are few stop signs here but alot of yield signs? And did I mention the drivers here can scare NASCAR drivers? Our drive was a real NASCAR driver, wedging our shuttle van in where ever he wanted or felt he needed to be. Overall, I feel the trip has been good and very educational. I have had lunch/dinner now and 2 glasses of wine, so along with the wickedly strong airline coffee I have a buzz and am wide awake. Momentarily. Joe is sleeping with blanket, eye mask and walkman beside me. Fred and Nancy will meet us at JFK in 7 hours, and our daughter waits for her court date. 7 time zones behind us. Yup, Jerry Garcia was right, what a long strange trip it has been.

Saturday, March 6, 2004

We did souvenir shopping yesterday - spent about 5400 rubles - nearly $180. Got 40 Matryoshka Dolls as gifts, a keychain for dad, hats for Fred, Dave & Karen. Can't sleep - went to bed at 8pm - jet lag. Our plane leaves at 3:30pm for NYC. We need to find a duty free shop before leaving to get some vodka. Maybe we will tour the Kremlin today when Natasha - our coordinator picks us up. Whatever we do it should be an adventure. I've come to the conclusion that I hate seltzer water - that's all we can get here. We ate Italian food (real Italian food) at an Italian restaurant on Arbat st. That was wonderful. Russians have such a different idea of food than western Europeans and us.
We're in the air on our way back to Moscow. I didn't get a chance to write after the trip to see Katya yesterday. We had time to play a little while, got some more pictures of us with her before we had to leave. After our visit we saw the education minister (I think that was who she was). She asked us basic questions and will represent us when we go to court. The view of mountains from the air is absolutely incredible! The stewardesses just moved a couple with a baby to the bulkhead across from us. That will be us in another month or 2.



Some time in the afternoon - somewhere over Russia. We are on our way to Moscow. The plane is hot, Russians like it hot. I don't know why. We've had lunch/dinner. Some cut meats, hamburger rolled in eggroll wraps, a buttered roll, some kind of dry pastry and coffee. Even though I am only wearing a long sleeved T-shirt and yoga pants I am hot. I don't know how the people do it. The people across from me are wearing jeans, shirts, and sweaters. They are traveling with a baby - about 8 or 9 months old. I wish we could have brought Katya home today. I didn't sleep well last night, the bed was impossible and now both my hips hurt and I'm tired, but of course not tired enough to sleep. When I get home I am going to work on a list of things we will need and getting Katya's room ready and learning more Russian - Good morning, thank you, and good-bye just don't cut it. Joe wants to see inside of the Kremlin when we get to Moscow. I hope there are other Americans staying at the hotel. I can't wait to call Karen and Linda. I'll write more after I get back home I'm sure. It seems strange leaving without her.

Friday, March 5, 2004

We just had an interesting occurrence. We have seats just behind the bulkhead that separates the economy section into 2 parts. I was sitting in the window seat, rain in the middle seat. All of a sudden a guy comes through the curtain with a girl in tow by a hand full of hair. Something caused a fight up front, not sure what. It took a few seconds for people to realize what was happening. The couple with the baby were definitely in danger since the baby was in a basinet. The guy hit the basinet already. The father, on the aisle was getting up, the guy on our side was about to get involved, I unbuckled my seatbelt, and basically shoved Rain behind me and was about to get involved. The guy was big, and out of control. One of the flight crew, possibly a pilot, and a passenger arranged to bring him down and stop anything further. One of the guy's friends ( I assume) got involved in calming him down and they took him up front. That was definitely scary. It's amazing what adrenaline can do in a situation like that.



Leaving Khabarovsk was difficult. The idea of leaving Katya in such a place is unthinkable but as Joe keeps reminding me, at this time a necessity. I still hate to think about it. When we got to the airport it was time to go, with only time for a few more forms, then it was time to board the shuttle with a few other passengers and be cattled out to the plane. Of course no-one at the boarding station so we (and 2 Chinese passengers) didn't know the other passengers had already gone on out to the plane, nice huh. When they realized some people had checked in but were missing they came back to the terminal to do a quick double check. Glad they did. They also double booked one of our seats. Since everything is done by hand with 2 women assigning seats as you check in, it was bound to happen. So we got to sit by the bulkhead. It gave us a little more leg room, the man who sat beside me had yet to discover deodorant this week. And of course the plane was hot and crowded. About 2/3 through the flight some guy further behind us freaked out and grabbed a woman by the hair and was trying to grab her bag and was really whacked out. The smelly man and the man across the aisle both tried to contain him. We tried to head butt one guy. The stewardesses were trying to calm him down, nothing was working I was beginning to get scared. For the first time I was glad we didn't have Katya with us. Finally 2 GI's (Russian GI's) got involved. They babysat the guy in business class the remainder of the flight. The guy beat and kicked on the bathroom door the whole time. A member of the cockpit crew helped with serving dinner and we noticed he had a bandage around his upper arm and blood on his shirt. We wondered if the guy bit him or something. When we landed the police met our plane and everyone got off while the cops babysat the guy. It truly made the flight memorable. Olga didn't meet us the same girl who met us coming in did. She was nice. We went back to the Arbat for the night. We had a much nicer room this time, a real bed! with a real mattress! And an English speaking channel on TV! We walked on Arbat street and finished our souvenir shopping. We ate dinner at the "Italia Restaurant" they serve "American" food. Pizza, beer, spaghetti, "Calsones" you know "American" food. I had a Greek salad, (that fit into a cereal bowl) and a Coke, real Coke! Not a flat, warm one either! Joe got spaghetti with tomato sauce. It was like chunky tomato puree but it worked. I got careless though and ordered "American" coffee, OK slap me hard. It was worse than Sanka, instant coffee. It was very bitter. I don't put sugar in my coffee, but I put 2 sugars in this coffee trying to save it. No such luck. I was so tired I fell asleep sitting up reading. Hopefully I'll sleep the night through.
Well yesterday went by too fast. Yuda met us at 11:30 and we did some shopping, first fro the director then for the orphanage. We bought the director an amber necklace at a museum/gift store. The salesman followed us around 1) to make a sale 2) to practice and show off his English vocabulary. He did pretty good. We even made jokes about the Terminator - we went to a department store and bought some sleepers and 6 pair of tights. Katya likes squeeky toys and her care bear. On our next trip I want to bring picture books, a purse with stuff she can play with, stacking toys and tissues, she loves these! She knows how to blow or wipe her nose. She also likes buttons on phones, cameras, etc We only got to spend 2 hours with her Friday. I was devastated. She was more interested in our interpreter than us. Mostly because she spoke Russian. Then abruptly at 4:30 our visit was over. At 4:30 they get the children ready for their evening meal. Thursday for lunch we saw her eat Borscht (beet soup) with bread, Black bread, mashed potatoes, and a hot dog (yummy) she ate everything! The director said she is a good eater, eating 4 times a day. She doesn't eat baby food but real "normal" food. She's allergic to buckwheat and oats and any citrus. She doesn't have a sleep schedule at this point ( that will change). I am going to talk to Karen, Nancy, Amy about sleep schedules. We went to a local bar/grill for dinner. Man, did I feel like a total tourist! Thank god the bartender spoke English! I swear I will be nicer to our tourist now that the shoe is on the other foot. We had "steak" a thin breaded beef patty, "fried potatoes" - French fries, and "coca cola" - flat coke. McDonalds is a big hit when we get to New York! So as we are leaving the orphanage Friday we realized Katya (Katie) has scabies (small common mites here). Thank god the pediatrician knew that was going to happen so he set us up with antibiotic cream to bring with us. We put all our "contaminated" clothes in space bags in one suitcase and took a shower. Then we applied the cream treatment from head to toe. This morning we washed it off. Our clothes will be left in the suitcase and the entire suitcase will be put into a garbage bag and sealed for 2 weeks. Joe and I are sad to leave Katya here even one more second but for right now we have no choice. We met with some case worked who oversees all the orphanages. She wanted to be sure of our reasoning for the adoption. I think she liked us. Today we head back to Moscow. Our plane leaves at 11:30AM and lands in Moscow 7 hours later at 3:30PM in Moscow. Yeah the time zones mess me up too. I am already making a list of things to bring for our next trip. Diapers, baby wash cloths, sleepers, shoes, coat, socks, more antibiotic cream for all 3 of us, a doll. None of the small children have dolls! The barbies and play dough we brought over will go to the "hospital" near us. That's where the 4-6 year olds are. I feel like we are abandoning Katya today. Even though I know in my head we aren't, my heart is breaking to leave her here in the orphanage. Joe and I agree this trip has been an eye opening experience. Here literally the rich are rich and the poor are extremely poor. I haven't been sleeping well, the beds are hard and the rooms hot. Karen would be in agony here. The rooms are kept at 74F. When we get to Moscow Joe and I are going to make a list of things to buy and bring. Right now I would love to hear an American accent. I admit it is cold here but not as cold as we expected. I will not need the wooly socks after all. Our driver Oleg gave Joe a badge for his hat. It is a USSR military pin. The one that came with Joe's hat is a basic tourist token. Olge ask he not put the pin on till he got back to the U.S. We bought our translator flowers to show our appreciation. Monday is "Woman's Day" - or Mother's day. On our next trip we are going VIP customs each way. And we want to check out business class for our flights over and back to Moscow. The flights to Khabarovsk is either coach or first class. I think we will price both. First class has 2 seats per row coach has 3 and it is a tight fit. I don't think I will ever get used to the food or the bread. I hope Olga meets us in Moscow. She was so nice, she kind of reminds me of a favorite aunt. It's hard to write down everything I am feeling and thinking. I made contact with Katya by getting down on the floor and doing what she did. Setting up her toys and knocking them down. I hope our next trip is very soon. We know we want to bring a U.S. map and a map of NJ. Yuda likes to look at maps, etc., newspapers, LBI tourist guide, a Beacon, NY times, I love LBI shirt for Yuda. Something Jeep for Oleg. Katya was fascinated by my fingernails. Women here don't have long nails and they aren't polished with anything but clear polish. So my long, pink nails are amazing to her. I don't know how she would like her nails painted. Life will certainly change in the Irvine house. I don't think she can open doors yet, but Katie is a smart girl, it won't be too long to figure it out.

Thursday, March 4, 2004

So we have gone to the notary and petitioned for Katya's adoption. Galia our interpreter was very nice. She explained everything as they went. Tatiana gave the notary and her assistant some chocolates as a thank you gift. Joe and I ate breakfast in the bar/cafe. When Joe asked for hot chocolate that's what he got, dark chocolate melted in a cup. It was gritty and bitter. I ordered cocoa with milk and got good, old fashioned cocoa. It was great! I had an omelet with "shrimps" tinned maize and greens. Their idea of a "cold garnish" is cold peas (canned) picked zucchini and a cole slaw like cabbage mix. We spent 5 hours with our baby. At first she didn't want us near her. But she slowly warmed up. They don't put diapers on the children because diapers are expensive and there is never enough. Tights and clothing can be washed and worn again diapers can't. The clothing will be worn over and over until it falls apart. Katya does use a potty but she also had 4 accidents. Joe took lots of pictures and video. Katya is very interested in the digital camera. Joe let her play with it, I turned it off and boy did she get pissed! Katya is very independent, she has order and plans in her head, It's just making herself understood. By the end of our visit she would talk to me, pat my hand, smooth my hair from my face. She is compassionate, kind and loving. Joe and I ventured outside the hotel for dinner and munchies. We went to "Cafe California" for dinner. The door man spoke some English. We had beef kabobs Russian style, basically Salisbury steak formed into a long row then baked on a skewer. I also got a salad with crab, so I thought. No it was shredded cabbage and a huge glob of mayonnaise on top of tomatoes, peppers, and a small amount of crab meat. My first bite was all mayo. I tried not to gag, I finally moved the top layer over (mayo & cabbage) and ate the crab, tomatoes and peppers. They also served white bread! I was never so happy to see white bread in my life! They do not serve your coffee or tea with dinner, it is served after your meal. Black coffee here is basically espresso, coffee with milk is cappuccino, and as Joe found out, milk is server hot. Milk is more like heave whipping cream. Per Joe it is very thick. Our room has been another obstacle. The shower is run by a switch on the sink. Water is heavy in iron content so you drink bottled water. And the water is carbonated. It is weird drinking seltzer water. Its even weirder boiling seltzer water for tea and coffee. The beds have no real mattress, its more box springs sheets and wooly blankets. I actually miss Moscow. At least in Moscow there was one British /English channel. Here the one channel with English runs the same program all day. The other channels are Russian or Chinese. Even the menus, info, and signs in the hotel are in Chinese or Russian. We definitely stick out as tourists, an people know the only reason why people come here as tourists - the orphanages. It's 4:30 in the morning and Joe and I are both awake. Sleep for 8 hours is in high demand but we can't get it. And today is our last day with our daughter until our court date, whenever that might be. We stopped after dinner at a little shop and bought Pepsi, Pepsi "Light" (diet), instant coffee, chocolate, and seltzer water. I want to buy tights, etc. for the orphanage for the next trip. Our in ear thermometer was a huge hit! They asked for few things when we asked what we can do to help. The in ear thermometer, the thermometers that is on the the forehead, disposable masks, and sample bags for baby girl urine samples, I am going to do my best to find them. Diaper rash ointment, etc. is in high demand. Joe and I are going to ask Fred to meet us with McDonalds food and a huge WaWa coffee for me. We are definitely suffering from culture shock. At this point I go from tears of despair because we have to leave Katya here for another second to hard headed determination to do everything to bring her home and make this experience worthwhile.



Yesterday was definitely an adventure - the notary process was simple enough, 500 rubles (about $18) for the translator - had to use a court appointed one, not ours. 350 rubles for the notary. I changed $200 into rubles and got 5500 rubles. Katya was much more friendly then the first day. She is not only speaking a few words but is ready to start speaking sentences. After a few hours, she was going on & on to Rain about a perfume sample she got out of Rain's purse. Definite sentences in her mind, of course most of it was not actual words but baby babble, but she thought she was speaking in Russian. I got about 45 minutes of video so far and lots of pictures, though not as many as I would have liked. Still working on the first memory stick out of 4. I'll get more today when we go shopping. We want to buy some clothes for them before we go. They can definitely use some. Not much of interest in the city to take pictures of. Only so much to take pictures of with Katya before you end up taking more of the same picture. She is definitely a cutie, she has Rain's eyes - more grayish blue then actual blue. We think she has scabies so we are going to treat ourselves before we go to bed tonight. The pediatrician gave is a prescription for a salve just in case - good thing. Today is our last day with Katya. Our flight tomorrow leaves at 11:25AM so we will be to the airport by 10:00AM. Dinner was interesting - we had "beef kabob" - basically beef formed on a skewer. I never thought beef would taste so good. We went 4 days without eating American food. Still none in sight but we're looking for anything that even is close at this point. We found a vendor and got some Pepsi - that was so good! Russian cuisine is very different than American - though in Moscow it is closer than it is here in Khabarovsk. Yesterday it was -20c when we got up - a bit chippy but the silk thermals did their job well, the boots too. We over packed, but with the cold here it is better to be prepared. Next trip we can pack more changes of clothes or more donations in the suitcases. Russians seem to love their chocolate and it is pretty darn good.

Wednesday, March 3, 2004

It's about 6:30 AM in Khabarovsk. Didn't write yesterday because we were just too tired to. We landed yesterday at about 9AM. We had to board a bus/shuttle to the terminal. It is a very small airport, more like a US bus terminal - no frills at all. Once we got our bags we went to the hotel (Sapporo). We had a little time to relax, etc. before our 2:00 appointment with the orphanage. We finally got to see Katya for the first time. We did not have to go to the ministry of education, it was never even mentioned. Our driver had a Japanese import - maybe Chinese. The wheel is on the right side - seems strange because in Russia they drive on the right side. The orphanage is extremely run down, would probably be condemned if it was in the U.S. We're talking extreme poverty here, not just poor. We were brought into a room with Tatiana, our translator Yuta and then a nurse brought Katya in to us. When she put her in my lap I felt like this is what I always wanted to be doing. Holding my daughter for the first time made me extremely happy. I can't wait to bring her home. We spent some time trying to get her to play with us. Of course we were strangers and she was very unsure of who there strange speaking people were. After a while I was brought into the office where I presented the gifts to the staff. The one thing that they really loved was the digital thermometer. We'll bring a few back next trip. I got a list of items that they desperately need here to bring next trip. I think the director was extremely pleased when I asked what they needed that I could buy in the US for them on our next trip. While I was meeting the director & staff, Rain was left alone with Katya. When I came back, they were sitting on the couch playing very well together. After we left we were both getting tired. Tatiana wanted to know if we were still interested in adopting Katya - like we would actually say no! Of course we said yes! We go this morning (Thursday) to the courthouse to file for the adoption. This should be interesting. We get to visit with Katya again this afternoon. Last night we ate dinner in the bar because we were too tired to go anywhere and try to find other food. We found that the hotel has internet access for $3.00 an hour. Not too bad considering we're 2/3 the way around the world. We sent a few emails to home. Something else I wanted to mention is that Khabarovsk sort of reminds me of the Camden area. Same kind of overcrowded run-down look. The industrial section looks like any other I've ever seen. Even the roads are very similar to the way they are back home.



OK it's Thursday morning, I wanted to write after our meeting with Katya but my heart was too raw. The whole area here is rundown, ghetto housing. The "baby hospital" is actually a very poor orphanage. In your mind take the oldest, poorest hospital or school, abandon it for say 40-50 years, put 200 infants and 10-15 care workers in it. Give them maybe $500 a month to run the whole works, feed and clothe everyone and then you have the place our daughter is staying. If the building has been painted or taken care of in the last decade I am amazed. I'm sure the care workers do anything and everything for their charges. It's a miracle the care workers haven't been made saints for their hard work. You can tell they love the children, you can read it in their faces, by the way they murmur encouragement to coo the child's new 'Mama' and 'Papa'. I was so happy when Katya said Mama until I understood that any woman is 'Mama'. Katya had never met a man in her entire young life, so Joe was a complete frightening mystery with his beard, deep voice and boney chest. She played with me only after the caseworker and other familiar women left. She will continue to look for them as a fall back safety net until we get her to Moscow I think. Then, at that point we will be the only familiar thing in her life. I pray we can get a fast court date and get the 10 day waiting period waived. It grieves me deeply to leave her there one minute longer. Today we go to the notary to get the paperwork for a court date started. Then we go to see the baby for a few more hours. Today I will try to get measurements, etc.



I learned something interesting - don't order milk & expect it to be cold. They drink hot milk in Russia, and it's real thick, not like in the U.S.

Tuesday, March 2, 2004

It's 7:30AM Khabarovsk time. I haven't slept much, my mind is full of everything I have seen, heard, smelled & witnessed. For example, Joe being mistaken for a local by a German tourist, funny. And the sad but really touching of the guards at the tomb of the unknown soldier in Red Square. The whole procedure takes less than 5 minutes, but like the changing of our guard it is done in absolute silence. The inside of St. Basils is without mention the most amazing thing. It is several (10) small chapels joined together. The stairs leading from one to another are really high & steep. I almost went into an asthma attack climbing them! But I made it. It was a shame we couldn't take pictures (you have to pay extra for a picture taking ticket). The icons were beautiful and somehow tragic. The ceiling and walls are covered with a beautiful, basic medieval flower blue and red print. It is so old the pigment has faded almost to pink. And it was so cold inside! I could see my breath! Joe and I are watching the sun peak through the clouds. In an hour (around 9) we will land and our journey or our pilgrimage to our daughter will continue. We just finished a good Russian breakfast, coffee, a croissant with butter, 2 slices of a mild swiss cheese and lettuce. They don't eat lunch and dinner is a small meal also. This confuses me. The dark bread we saw Katya eating is a staple here. It is heavy and has a strong wheat taste, but it is filling. I wonder how many points that is? It's a heavy fiber rich diet. Well I guess I should stop for now and get my boots on and gather up my stuff.
We're in the air - took off at about 6:30PM, right on time. We're flying Dalavia on a TU-214, sort of like a Boeing 737, only Russian built. The plane is a little noisier than an American built plane, but not too bad. The first thing that I notices was the plane smells sort of like a locker room. The seats aren't very comfy either. My back started to bother me before take off. Now that we can tilt them back, it's not quite as bad. I recommend a pillow for [your back in] these jets. Not much padding in the seats. Our driver was good so I tipped him 500 rubles - about $18. Russian currency looks funny when you are used to US money, almost like full color Monopoly money. Good thing we have the CD player - with both headphones at full it is audible above the plane noise. Good enough to drown it out most of the way.

It's way too early to be writing this. We have left Moscow and are now on our way to Khabarovsk. We will lose something like 7 hours. It sounds still so impossible that 1) we made it to Moscow, 2) we are on our way to see our child, our daughter, our Dolka. And 3) I sat on the windows seat on this flight. We have had an amazing trip so far. Our interpreter Olga was fantastic. Seeing the Kremlin, Lenin's tomb, St. Basils Cathedral was cool. Olga gave us great history lessons (from a Russian viewpoint) at each stop. Plus personal feelings on many things. Our unnamed driver could put many Nascar drivers to shame. He maneuvered through Moscow traffic like a pro! We played tourist on Arbat St. shopping at the Hard Rock Cafe for T-shirts and a souvenir shop for Matryoshka's (nesting dolls). We met a nice couple from Texas who were going home today with their new daughter. Hopefully that will be us soon. I'm hungry I hope they serve dinner (whatever it is) soon. Then I will attempt to sleep for a while.



One thing I forgot to mention - while on the way to the airport we stopped by the Cradle of Hope office. We waited with the driver while Olga went for our tickets. We waited fro a while. It turns out that she was waiting for documents for us to take with us to Khabarovsk. Turns out we may not have to do the 10 day wait! That is really good news for us on the second trip.
Had a great day sightseeing. Went to see Red Square, Lenin (Yes, Lenin - he's in a glass coffin), St. Basil's Cathedral, the Kremlin. Maybe we'll tour the Kremlin on the return trip.

Monday, March 1, 2004

Day 2 for us (or is it 3?)

Jet lag has us all screwed up. We have gained 8 hours so far - 7 more to come later today. We're up and getting ourselves packed and ready to go. As soon as we eat breakfast we'll head to Arbat St. to exchange currency, maybe some shopping or internet time if we can.
Well, We're in Moscow. Landed at 1:15PM - the VIP package was worth it. We were through passport control & customs in less than 1/2 hour. If we had to wait on line it would have taken at least an hour, probably longer. (We got there at a slow time, it could have been a whole lot worse than it was.) And we would have not known that we only need to declare our valuables if over $10,000 total. We're both pooped - Rain is asleep already, but we only got like 1-2 hours sleep on the plane. We tried some real Russian vodka with dinner at the bar in the hotel. The airport (Sheremetyevo-2) was not bad. Small, not too modern, but not bad either - kind of reminded me of a bus terminal. Sure there were lots of people for hire (Some legal cabs, some not), but we had arranged for transportation through AllWays. Again, worth it. Someone was waiting for us right outside. They took us to the hotel and got us checked in. Tomorrow morning we'll hit Arbat St. and exchange some currency and maybe hit an internet cafe or shopping till our coordinator picks us up at 12:00. Then hopefully a little sightseeing before off to the airport to Khabarovsk.
Wow, what a long strange trip it has been. In the last 24 hours I've watched the sunset in New York and watched sunrise somewhere over Europe. I've tried Russian white wine and experienced trying to use the bathroom during international flights, huh - no dignity there. The flushing toilet sounds like it is going to suck you out of the plane. Take off was an experience, kind of frightening, kind of cool. I might get the hang of it. The air food is still a little bizarre, cold fish and parsnip? Salad as a side dish. I passed. And Nicholas Cage movie in Russian I couldn't follow. Yes, I followed Lisa's advice and dressed in layers. Thanks Lis. Soon we'll land in Moscow. Cool, I look forward to a new land and a thousand opportunities, as we cruise at 33,000 feet it does feel like a big bus. You're right Fred.
We took off at 8PM EST (4AM Moscow). Rain handled the takeoff pretty well. Once in flight we broke out the CD player - the headphones and splitter were a good idea. Had to crank it up most of the way to hear it over the plane but it kept us occupied till after dinner. Airline food is not all that bad. I had the fish - Rain had the beef. It even included lemon cheesecake for dessert. We tried the white wine - wasn't really to our taste, but it was kinda neat seeing a Pepsi can in Russian. We tried to get some sleep but weren't successful. I think with the excitement of flying half way around the world, the noise of the plane, etc. made it difficult. I know I got an hour or 2 of sleep. I tried watching the in flight movie. The airline had the audio on one channel in Russian and another in English. I kept flipping back and forth. It was kinda neat. Not sure what movie it was but it was a Nicholas Cage movie. Looks like the sun broke the horizon at about 10:15AM Moscow time. No sign of the ground, only clouds below us. I set the camera on night mode and got some pre-dawn pictures from 33,000 feet. It was real neat to see. I'm glad I was awake for that, though I know I'm gonna be tired when we land - should be around 1PM Moscow time. Rain is still trying to sleep. The plane is slowly waking up, I see a few people reading, one or two have the shades up letting light in. I'm trying to be courteous and keep mine most of the way closed. So far we hit pretty calm air, just the occasional flutter from the jet. Of course at 33,000 feet there isn't much air to get rough and at nearly 550mph I think it would take alot to toss a 737-300. I'm not sure but I think we're somewhere over Sweden by now - maybe a little farther along. Pilot just put the seatbelt sign on. Looks like turbulence ahead.